Welcome to the WIWD

Welcome to the website for the
United States District Court for the
Western District of Wisconsin

Court Information

Chief U.S. District Judge
James D. Peterson

U.S. District Judge
William M. Conley

U.S. District Judge
Barbara B. Crabb

U.S. Magistrate Judge
Stephen L. Crocker

Clerk of Court
Peter Oppeneer

United States District Court
120 N. Henry St., Rm. 320
Madison, WI 53703
Phone:  608-264-5156
Fax:  608-264-5925

Google Map

ECF Help Desk:
866-241-7123 or

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST

News & Announcements

Wed, 02/13/2019
The U.S. District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin, including the U.S. Bankruptcy Court and U.S. Probation and Pretrial Services, will be closed on Monday, February 18, 2019 for Washington's Birthday. More »
Tue, 02/05/2019
The policy of the United States District Court in Madison is that the building shall be open to the public as long as the More »
Thu, 01/10/2019
Chief Judge Peterson has issued an administrative order appointing Federal Defender Services of Wisconsin, Inc. More »
Fri, 12/28/2018
The United States District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin, including the Bankruptcy Court and Probation Office, will be closed on Monday, December 24, 2018 and Tuesday, December 25, 2018 for the Christmas holiday. More »

Pro Bono Honor Roll

The attorneys listed below are recognized for their service in representing indigent plaintiffs in 2017-2018.  Please see the complete list of attorneys recognized for their contribution.

  • Edna Kersting
  • Alexis Pool
  • Katelynn Williams
  • Aaron Halstead
  • Amanda Kuklinski
  • William Parsons
  • Mary Kennelly
  • Joseph Diedrich
  • Natalia Kruse
  • Iana Vladimirova
  • Thomas Heneghan
  • Sarah Sargent
  • Ashley Kirkwood
  • James Kestler
  • Mark Nomellini
  • Robert Earles
  • Andrew Clarkowski
  • Kristin Pierre
  • Michael Modl
  • Reed Cornia
  • James Law
  • Jeff Roeske
  • Sarah Zylstra
  • Evan Tenebruso
  • Kathryn Pfefferle
  • Christopher Hovden
  • Thomas Nitschke
  • Joseph Russell
  • Stephen Howe
  • Paige Stradley



Subscribe to Western District of Wisconsin RSS